Offshore Racing

Royal Freshwater Bay Yacht Club has a long association with offshore yacht racing which dates back to 1948. Sailors from the Club continue to be successful in offshore events both here in WA and around the globe.

Each season, the Club hosts a number of key races on the Ocean Racing WA calendar and conducts its own series. The Farrawa Cup Series was inaugurated in the 1977/78 season by the late Bruce Campbell who was a Vice Patron of the Club. The trophy carries the name of the Bruce Farr designed yacht which he launched that summer. To this day the series continues with four races scored towards the overall result using IRC handicap for the combined fleet.

Races hosted by RFBYC Offshore Racing include the Bunbury and Return Ocean Race (since 1948), Rockingham Race Regatta (including the Dolphin Race and Gordon Craig Ocean Race) and Roland Smith Ocean Race.

2020-2021 Season races:

click on the races to go to the event page

73rd Bunbury and Return Ocean Race

Roland Smith Ocean Race